General Terms and Conditions for Youth Hostels

Youth hostels (YH) are establishments of the regional associations of the Deutsches Jugendherbergswerk (German Youth Hostel Association) (DJH) or establishments of other responsible bodies affiliated with the DJH.

Membership of the Deutsches Jugendherbergswerk or of a disparate association affiliated with the International Youth Hostel Federation (IYHF) is a pre-requisite for YH acceptance. This may be acquired on site within the youth hostels.

Youth hostel accommodation is primarily offered to young people and to families.

Children’s groups and youth groups must be accompanied by at least one person responsible for their supervision.

1. Booking

1.1 Guests may book accommodation in person, on the telephone, by fax, by post, by e-mail or also online.

1.2 The booking request should provide the following information: name, address, dates of arrival and departure, number of people (specifying the number of male and female guests), date of birth, membership number (if available). Family bookings should specify the age of the child or children and any special requests.

1.3 The reservation shall become binding upon both parties upon written or verbal confirmation thereof and/or upon conclusion of a written confirmation of occupancy.

1.4 A written Agreement of Occupancy shall be concluded with families and groups, and specific to extended occupancy.

1.5 Unannounced guests may be provided accommodation solely if the occupancy status permits this.

2. Payment

Payment for accommodation in youth hostels shall be due no later than at the time of departure. Pre-payment may be requested. Further details shall be provided in the Agreement of Occupancy concluded.

3. Cancellations

3.1 Guests who do not have a written Agreement of Occupancy may cancel their booking telephonically. Cancellation must be received by the youth hostel by 6.00 P.M. on the day prior to the scheduled date of arrival.

3.2 Guests in possession of a written Agreement of Occupancy must effect cancellation in writing. Notification of cancellation must be received by the youth hostel no later than eight weeks prior to the scheduled date of arrival, unless otherwise covenanted in the Agreement of Occupancy. Notification of the number of participants must also be submitted in writing no later than eight weeks prior to the scheduled date of arrival.

3.3 Notifications received within the eight week period prior to arrival – and thereafter – shall unequivocally be governed by the provisions cited under “Cancellation charges” detailed in the next section.

3.4 The youth hostels shall be entitled to rescind approval of the booking and/or the written Agreement of Occupancy vis-à-vis registered guests in the event of non-availability of the agreed or covenanted services up to four weeks prior to the date of arrival. In such a case, they shall be obligated to inform registered guests immediately of such non-availability and to refund any pre-payments already remitted to them. Guests thus affected shall be provided support in their identification of alternative accommodation.

4. Cancellation charges

4.1 In the event that cancellation periods shall fail to be observed, or should there be a discrepancy of at least ten per cent between the number of guests who shall have registered and those who shall have actually arrived, or should the guests fail to arrive at all, the youth hostel shall levy compensation charges of fifty per cent per person and per day specific to all covenanted services unless the guest shall demonstrate that damages of an appreciably lower extent, or no damages at all, shall have been incurred.

4.2 In the event that the costs incurred by the youth hostel in consequence of cancellation shall be demonstrably higher than the fixed amount, the guest shall be liable for remittance of this amount.

4.3 Compensation shall not be due if the covenanted services shall be utilised by other guests.

5. Membership

Submission of a valid membership card is a pre-requisite for utilisation of the youth hostels.

6. Individual membership

6.1 All persons permanently resident in the Federal Republic of Germany may obtain a membership card from all DJH membership card issuing offices (including youth hostels and offices of DJH Landesverbände).

6.2 Individual guests aged up to 26 years old shall receive junior cards. Individual guests aged 27 years and above, married couples and those in a relationship akin to marriage residing at the same address, families or single parents with minor children (aged up to 26 years) shall receive a Family/27 PLUS (FAM/27 PLUS) card even in the event that addresses shall differ. One membership card may be issued per family member.

6.3 Family membership cards (FAM/27 PLUS) shall entitle adult card holders to bring along their own minor children and those of friends.

6.4 Guests from abroad who are not members of an association affiliated with the IYHF may obtain an “International Guest Card” (Welcome Stamps) on site.

7. Organisational membership

7.1 Schools, youth groups, unions, associations, foundations, companies, corporate enterprises and other organisations shall obtain corporate membership and shall, accordingly, be issued group membership cards. Their acceptance and inclusion shall be subject to statutory provisions of the primary DJH association and of the regional associations of the DJH.

7.2 The group membership card shall entitle the leader and that leader’s group to accommodation in the youth hostel. The group membership card shall not replace individual membership. It shall not be transferable to other institutions or persons.

7.3 A group shall consist of not less than four participants, including the group leader. Group leaders shall be required to be of no less than 16 years of age.

7.4 Group membership cards shall not be issued to travel agencies or other businesses that organise travel on a commercial basis. Even when making a booking through an intermediary, the group proposing travel shall be required to be in possession of membership.

8. Prices

Prices shall be based upon the current price list of the respective regional association, or Landesverband, and/or the youth hostel at the time of receipt of the booking request, provided differing prices shall not have been covenanted in the Agreement of Occupancy. Price lists may be obtained from the DJH Landesverbänden and the youth hostels.

9. Liability

9.1 Guests who shall have culpably inflicted damage to buildings and fixtures shall be statutorily required to provide compensation thereof (those with parental responsibility and operators included).

9.2 Liability specific to loss, theft or damage of articles of value may be assumed solely if such articles shall have been surrendered to the youth hostel management, or the representatives thereof, expressly for their safekeeping unless the DJH, its organs or vicarious agents shall have caused such loss or damage either wilfully or in consequence of gross negligence. In such an instance, too, statutory provisions shall apply.

9.3 Liability shall not extend to damage to motor vehicles (including their contents) and bicycles sited on the YH premises, provided such damage shall not have been inflicted wilfully or in consequence of gross negligence by the DJH or its organs or vicarious agents.


These Terms and Conditions of Use / General Terms and Conditions for Youth Hostels were adopted following a resolution of the members’ assembly passed on 19th November 2005 in Hanover.

Note:

We would like to refer to the EU platform on online out-of-court dispute resolution, which can be found under the following link: http://ec.europa.eu/consumers/odr/. Our DJH Service Center will be happy to assist you with initial questions on dispute resolution. Beyond this we do not participate in voluntary dispute resolution procedures before a consumer arbitration board.

House rules for youth hostels

Deutsches Jugendherbergswerk wishes all guests a pleasant and memorable stay in its youth hostels! Our guests are not only presented with a wealth of opportunities to meet people but also interact with people of divergent age groups and cultures. Such people often have unique habits, behavioural characteristics and requirements. The youth hostels have house rules that are intended to help cater to the differing requirements and to facilitate a stress-free stay. The following house rules thus require compliance by all guests. Group leaders and teachers are responsible for their groups.

Arrival

If you are registered, you may arrange your time of arrival with hostel management. Approved places will be reserved until 6.00 P.M. and may thereafter be allocated to other guests.

If you are not registered, you may enquire telephonically or in person at the youth hostel regarding the availability of places.

Anyone wishing to be provided accommodation or other facilities within a youth hostel must be a member of Deutsches Jugendherbergswerk or of a further national youth hostel association. Travellers residing in Germany who are not in possession of a membership card may also obtain membership in and of the youth hostel; guests from abroad who are not in possession of a membership card must obtain an “International Guest Card”.

Accommodation

Accommodation is provided in shared rooms, male and female occupants being, as a rule, housed separately. Families may be provided accommodation in a single room upon request insofar as this is available.

We request your cooperation during your stay: this requires, for instance, that you keep the facilities, rooms and articles that you use in good order and that you assist in table service.

The youth hostels have pledged themselves to the conservation of the environment and of nature. We therefore request that you segregate the waste that you collect or avoid it completely, and that you use power and water sparingly.

Meals may not be prepared or consumed in bedrooms. In view of fire safety, insurance and health legislation considerations, the use of electrical appliances for the preparation of meals and hot beverages is prohibited.

Smoking is not permitted on the youth hostel premises.

Alcoholic beverages brought into the premises may not be consumed in the youth hostel or on its premises. Guests in a state of inebriation may be expelled from the premises.

As a rule, animals may not be admitted to the premises. Guide dogs and service dogs may remain in the youth hostel upon approval thereof by hostel management.

Youth hostels generally remain open until 10.00 P.M.

Night hours are observed from 10.00 P.M. until 7.00 A.M. All guests are requested to exercise due consideration so as to enable other guests to sleep undisturbed.

Please remain considerate of other guests during your stay, especially when you use electronic appliances.

Departure

Bedrooms must be vacated by 10.00 A.M.

Exceptions to this rule must be approved by hostel management.

Domiciliary rights

Hostel management or a representative thereof is commissioned by the body responsible for the youth hostels to exercise domiciliary rights.

They may ban entry to the premises in the event of non-compliance with the basic rules.

The ban on entry to the premises shall be verbally substantiated.

These house rules were adopted following a resolution of the members’ assembly passed on 15th November 2008 in Bremen.

Draft dated: November 2008

Print

Allgemeine Geschäftsbedingungen für Jugendherbergen

Jugendherbergen (JH) sind Häuser der Landesverbände des Deutschen Jugendherbergswerkes (DJH) oder Häuser anderer Träger, die dem DJH angeschlossen sind.

Voraussetzung für die Aufnahme in eine JH ist die Mitgliedschaft im Deutschen Jugendherbergswerk oder in einem anderen Verband der International Youth Hostel Federation (IYHF). Sie kann auch vor Ort in den Jugendherbergen erworben werden.

Jugendherbergen sind in erster Linie ein Angebot an junge Menschen und Familien.

Kinder- und Jugendgruppen müssen von mindestens einer für die Aufsicht verantwortlichen Person begleitet werden.

1. Reservierung

1.1 Die Gäste können ihren Aufenthalt persönlich, telefonisch, per Fax, per Post, per E-Mail oder auch online reservieren.

1.2 Die Reservierungsanfrage sollte folgende Angaben enthalten: Name, Anschrift, Daten der Ankunft und Abreise, Anzahl der Personen unter Angabe des Geschlechtes, Geburtsdatum, Mitgliedsnummer (falls vorhanden), bei Familien Alter der Kinder, Verpflegungswünsche.

1.3 Die Reservierung wird mit der schriftlichen oder mündlichen Zusage bzw. dem Abschluss eines schriftlichen Belegungsvertrages für beide Seiten verbindlich.

1.4 Mit Familien, Gruppen und bei längeren Aufenthalten wird ein schriftlicher Belegungsvertrag abgeschlossen.

1.5 Unangemeldete Gäste können nur übernachten, wenn die Belegungssituation es zulässt.

2. Zahlung

Die Zahlung für den Aufenthalt in der Jugendherberge ist spätestens bei der Abreise fällig. Eine Anzahlung kann verlangt werden. Näheres regelt der abgeschlossene Belegungsvertrag.

3. Absagen

3.1 Gäste ohne schriftlichen Belegungsvertrag können ihre Buchung telefonisch absagen. Die Absage muss der Jugendherberge bis zum Vortage der geplanten Anreise, 18 Uhr, zugegangen sein.

3.2 Gäste mit einem schriftlichen Belegungsvertrag müssen schriftlich absagen. Die Absage muss mindestens acht Wochen vor dem geplanten Anreisetag der Jugendherberge zugegangen sein, sofern im Belegungsvertrag nichts anderes vereinbart wurde. Auch eine Berichtigung der Teilnehmerzahl muss mindestens acht Wochen vor dem geplanten Anreisetag schriftlich erfolgen.

3.3 Bei Anmeldungen innerhalb acht Wochen vor Anreise und danach erfolgten Absagen gelten in jedem Fall die Regelungen, die unter »Ausfallzahlung« im nächsten Kapitel genannt sind.

3.4 Die Jugendherbergen sind berechtigt, gegenüber angemeldeten Gästen wegen Nichtverfügbarkeit der zugesagten bzw. vereinbarten Leistungen bis vier Wochen vor dem Anreisetag von der Zusage der Reservierung bzw. dem schriftlichen Belegungsvertrag zurückzutreten. Sie sind in diesen Fällen verpflichtet, die angemeldeten Gäste unverzüglich von der Nichtverfügbarkeit zu informieren und ihnen bereits erbrachte Anzahlungen zu erstatten. Betroffene Gäste erhalten bei der Suche nach einer Ersatzunterkunft Unterstützung.

4. Ausfallzahlung

4.1 Wenn die Absagefristen nicht eingehalten werden oder zwischen der Zahl der angemeldeten und der angereisten Gäste eine Minderung um mindestens zehn Prozent eintritt oder die Gäste gar nicht erscheinen, wird durch die Jugendherberge je Person und Tag eine Entschädigung von fünfzig Prozent aller vereinbarten Leistungen gefordert, es sei denn, der Gast weist nach, dass ein geringerer oder kein Schaden entstanden ist.

4.2 Sollten die der Jugendherberge durch den Rücktritt entstandenen Kosten nachweisbar höher sein als dieser Pauschalbetrag, so wird vom Gast dieser Betrag geschuldet.

4.3 Auf die Entschädigung wird verzichtet, wenn die vereinbarten Leistungen von anderen
Gästen in Anspruch genommen werden.

5. Mitgliedschaft

Die Vorlage der gültigen Mitgliedskarte ist Voraussetzung für die Nutzung der Jugendherbergen.

6. Mitgliedschaft von Personen

6.1 Die Mitgliedskarte kann von allen Personen mit festem Wohnsitz in der Bundesrepublik Deutschland bei allen DJH-Mitgliedskartenausgabestellen (auch Jugendherbergen und Geschäftsstellen der DJH-Landesverbände) erworben werden.

6.2 Einzelgäste bis 26 Jahre erhalten die Juniorkarte. Die Mitgliedskarte Familie/27 PLUS (FAM/27 PLUS) erhalten Einzelmitglieder ab 27 Jahren, Ehepaare und eheähnliche Gemeinschaften mit gleicher Anschrift, Familien bzw. Alleinerziehende mit minderderjährigen Kindern bei gleicher Adresse oder mit eigenen volljährigen Kindern (bis max. 26 Jahre) auch bei abweichender Anschrift. Für jedes Familienmitglied kann eine eigene Mitgliedskarte ausgestellt werden.

6.3 Familienmitgliedskarten (FAM/27 PLUS) berechtigen den volljährigen Karteninhaber zur Mitnahme eigener und befreundeter minderjähriger Kinder.

6.4 Ausländische Gäste, die nicht Mitglied eines der IYHF angeschlossenen Verbandes sind, können vor Ort die »Internationale Gastkarte« (Welcome Stamps) erwerben.

7. Mitgliedschaft von Organisationen

7.1 Schulen, Jugendgruppen, Vereine, Verbände, Stiftungen, Firmen, Körperschaften und andere Organisationen erwerben die körperschaftliche Mitgliedschaft und erhalten dafür Gruppenmitgliedskarten. Für die Aufnahme gelten die satzungsrechtlichen Bestimmungen des DJH-Hauptverbandes und der DJH-Landesverbände.

7.2 Mit der Gruppenmitgliedskarte kann der/die Leiter/in mit einer Gruppe in der Jugendherberge übernachten. Die Gruppenmitgliedskarte ist kein Ersatz für die Einzelmitgliedschaft. Sie ist nicht übertragbar auf andere Institutionen oder Personen.

7.3 Eine Gruppe besteht aus mindestens vier Teilnehmer/innen einschließlich der Leitung. Gruppenleiter/innen müssen mindestens das 16. Lebensjahr vollendet haben.

7.4 Gruppenmitgliedskarten werden nicht an Reisebüros und andere Unternehmen ausgegeben, die auf gewerblicher Basis die Teilnahme an Reisen vermitteln. Auch bei der Buchung über einen Vermittler ist die eigene Mitgliedschaft der reisenden Gruppe erforderlich.

8. Preise

Grundlage der Preise ist die aktuelle Preisliste des jeweiligen Landesverbandes bzw. der Jugendherberge zum Zeitpunkt des Eingangs der Reservierungsanfrage, wenn nicht andere Preise im Belegungsvertrag vereinbart sind. Preislisten sind bei den DJH-Landesverbänden und in den Jugendherbergen erhältlich.

9. Haftung

9.1 Gäste, die aus eigenem Verschulden Schäden an Gebäuden und Inventar verursachen, werden im Rahmen der gesetzlichen Bestimmungen zum Ersatz herangezogen (Erziehungsberechtigte und Veranstalter eingeschlossen).

9.2 Eine Haftung für Verlust, Diebstahl oder Beschädigung von Wertgegenständen kann nur übernommen werden, wenn diese der Herbergsleitung oder ihrer Vertretung ausdrücklich zur Verwahrung gegeben wurden, es sei denn, das DJH, seine Organe oder Erfüllungsgehilfen haben den Verlust oder die Beschädigung vorsätzlich oder grob fahrlässig verursacht. Auch hier gelten die gesetzlichen Bestimmungen.

9.3 Für Schäden an Kraftfahrzeugen (einschließlich Inhalt) und Fahrrädern, die sich auf dem Gelände der JH befinden, wird nicht gehaftet, sofern der Schaden nicht vorsätzlich oder grob fahrlässig durch das DJH oder seine Organe oder Erfüllungsgehilfen verursacht worden ist.

 

Diese Benutzungsbedingungen / Allgemeinen Geschäftsbedingungen für Jugendherbergen wurden durch Beschluss der Mitgliederversammlung vom 19. November 2005 in Hannover verabschiedet. 

Hinweis:

Streitigkeiten zwischen Verbrauchern und Händlern im Zusammenhang von Online-Kaufverträgen oder Online-Dienstleistungsverträgen sollen fortan über eine Online-Plattform der Europäische Union beigelegt werden. Die Plattform ist ab dem 15.02.2016 unter folgendem Link erreichbar:
http://ec.europa.eu/consumers/odr/

Hausordnung für Jugendherbergen

Das Deutsche Jugendherbergswerk wünscht allen Gästen einen angenehmen und erlebnisreichen Aufenthalt in seinen Jugendherbergen! Unsere Gäste finden nicht nur eine Fülle von Begegnungsmöglichkeiten, sondern treffen auch auf Menschen unterschiedlicher Altersgruppen und Kulturen. Diese haben oftmals individuelle Gewohnheiten, Verhaltensweisen und Bedürfnisse. Die Jugendherbergen haben Hausregeln, die helfen sollen, die unterschiedlichen Bedürfnisse zu berücksichtigen und einen spannungsarmen Aufenthalt zu ermöglichen. Die folgenden Grundregeln sollen daher von allen Gästen beachtet werden. Gruppenleiter und Lehrer sind verantwortlich für ihre Gruppen.

Ankunft

Wenn Sie angemeldet sind, können Sie Ihre Ankunftszeit mit der Herbergsleitung vereinbaren. Zugesagte Plätze werden bis 18 Uhr freigehalten, danach können sie an andere Gäste vergeben werden.

Wenn Sie nicht angemeldet sind, können Sie telefonisch oder direkt in der Jugendherberge erfahren, ob es freie Plätze gibt.

Wer in einer Jugendherberge übernachten oder andere Angebote in Anspruch nehmen möchte, muss Mitglied des Deutschen Jugendherbergswerkes oder eines anderen nationalen Jugendherbergsverbandes sein. Reisende mit deutscher Anschrift ohne Mitgliedskarte können auch in der Jugendherberge Mitglied werden, ausländische Gäste ohne Mitgliedskarte müssen eine „Internationale Gastkarte“ erwerben.

Aufenthalt

Die Unterbringung erfolgt in Mehrbettzimmern und in der Regel nach Geschlecht getrennt. Familien können nach Anmeldung in einem Zimmer gemeinsam untergebracht werden, sofern es verfügbar ist.

Wir bitten Sie während Ihres Aufenthaltes um Mithilfe. Dazu gehört z. B., dass Sie die von Ihnen genutzten Einrichtungen, Räume und Gegenstände in Ordnung halten und beim Tischdienst helfen.

Die Jugendherbergen haben sich dem Umwelt- und Naturschutz verpflichtet. Darum bitten wir Sie, Abfall getrennt zu sammeln oder ganz zu vermeiden und mit Energie und Wasser sparsam umzugehen.

In Schlafräumen dürfen Speisen weder zubereitet noch gegessen werden. Aus brandschutztechnischen, versicherungs- und gesundheitsrechtlichen Gründen ist die Benutzung von elektrischen Geräten für die Zubereitung von Speisen und heißen Getränken nicht gestattet.

Rauchen ist in der Jugendherberge nicht gestattet.

Der Konsum von mitgebrachten alkoholischen Getränken ist in der Jugendherberge und auf ihrem Gelände nicht erlaubt. Alkoholisierte Gäste können des Hauses verwiesen werden.

Tiere dürfen grundsätzlich nicht mitgebracht werden. Insbesondere Blinden- und Servicehunde können in Absprache mit der Herbergsleitung in der Jugendherberge bleiben.

Jugendherbergen sind in der Regel bis 22 Uhr geöffnet.

Die Nachtruhe beginnt um 22 Uhr und endet um 7 Uhr. Um die Nachtruhe für andere Gäste zu ermöglichen, werden alle Gäste um Rücksicht gebeten.

Bitte nehmen Sie bei Ihrem Aufenthalt Rücksicht auf andere Gäste, besonders wenn Sie elektronische Geräte benutzen.

Abreise

Die Schlafräume müssen bis 10 Uhr geräumt sein.

Nach Absprache mit der Herbergsleitung sind Ausnahmen möglich.

Hausrecht

Die Herbergsleitung oder ein von ihr Beauftragter übt das Hausrecht im Auftrage des Trägers der Jugendherberge aus.

Diese können bei Nichtbeachtung der Grundregeln ein Hausverbot aussprechen.
Das Hausverbot wird mündlich begründet.

Diese Hausordnung wurde durch Beschluss der Mitgliederversammlung vom 15.11.2008 in Bremen verabschiedet.

Kontakt

Service-Center der Jugendherbergen im Rheinland

Düsseldorfer Straße 1a
40545 Düsseldorf

Tel: 0211 - 30 26 30 26
Fax: 0211 - 30 26 30 27

 

Öffnungszeiten:
Montags bis Donnerstags: 8.00 bis 17.00 Uhr

Freitags: 8.00 bis 15.00 Uhr

 

 

Telefonische Erreichbarkeit:
Montags bis Freitags: 8.00 bis 17.00 Uhr

 

E-Mail: service@djh-rheinland.de

Weiterempfehlen