javascript:void(0);
/~/media/65D437023CC340158F605B581B882BBD.jpg
activeSlide-azureblue
javascript:void(0);
/~/media/65D437023CC340158F605B581B882BBD.jpg
activeSlide-azureblue
javascript:void(0);
/~/media/65D437023CC340158F605B581B882BBD.jpg
activeSlide-azureblue
Print

Museums in the Rhineland

Experience culture and tradition

No two museums are alike: art museums, natural history museums, museums of local history or open-air museums – there is a wide range on offer. More and more museums are designed for visits with the whole family: special elements and exhibitions for children make the visit an exciting journey of discovery! Here they can touch, try out and experiment, listen to stories and learn by playing. One fast-growing trend is what is known as audio guides, which enable you to explore the exhibition rooms in detail at your own speed – for adults and children.

In the Rhineland you will find a multitude of exciting and lovingly designed museums that take families, school classes and groups on a unique journey into the past.

Where do we come from? Discover the lives of our ancestors: the Neanderthal Museum in Mettmann provides living impressions of the presence of the Neanderthals, whose skeletons were first found here in Mettmann. This lavishly designed museum with a lot of multimedia presentations, reading texts and audio experiences can be reached from the Ratingen Youth Hostel and the City-Hostel Düsseldorf in a very short time.
are very close to the APX
Also well worth a visit: the Xanten Archaeological Park (APX). Bread and circuses, Roman thermae, jewellery and pottery: you can experience Roman history close-up on the ground of the Roman city of Colonia Ulpia Traiana in Germany’s largest archaeological open-air museum. In the Roman Museum you can see the remains of the thermae and fascinating attestations of the ancient inhabitants. The youth hostels of Xanten, Kevelaer and Kleve are very close to the APX. Here you can immerse yourself in the Roman era with exciting programmes, either with the family or the school class.

Off to the Middle Ages, to the times of knights and lords of the castle: in North-Rhine Westphalia you will find a large number of well-maintained castles and fantastic castle ruins. Many of them contain museums that provide insights into the history and culture of the Middle Ages and life in a castle. Discover, for example, Burg Castle near Solingen, one of the biggest restored castle grounds in Western Germany.

You will find an especially high density of museums in the major Rhineland cities. The chocolate museum in Cologne, the maritime museum in Düsseldorf or the House of History in Bonn – you are certain to find your field of interest. A new museum culture has come about in the Ruhr in the last few decades: experience the industrial past of the region on the route of Industrial Culture. The highlight of the “Pott”: Zeche Zollverein, part of the UNESCO World Heritage and the biggest coal mine in the world today, houses the Ruhr Museum and the red dot design Museum. 

DJH-Service-Center Rheinland
  • Düsseldorfer Str. 1a
  • |
  • 40545 Düsseldorf
  • |
  • phone: +49 211 30 26 30 26
  • |
  • fax: +49 211 30 26 30 27
  • |
  • service@djh-rheinland.de

Kultur und Tradition erleben Kultur und Tradition erleben

Kultur und Tradition erleben Kultur und Tradition erleben

Kultur und Tradition verbinden Kultur und Tradition verbinden

javascript:void(0);
/~/media/D889CF33A0804D12B3B4F6FA1697CFC9.jpg
activeSlide-azureblue
Museen & Kultur
Museen & Kultur
javascript:void(0);
/~/media/5A25106964C34212A453B1851943BBBB.jpg
activeSlide-azureblue
Museen & Kultur
Museen & Kultur
javascript:void(0);
/~/media/65D437023CC340158F605B581B882BBD.jpg
activeSlide-azureblue
Museen & Kultur
Museen & Kultur
Print

Museen im Rheinland

Kultur und Tradition erleben

Kein Museum ist wie das andere: Kunstmuseum, Naturkundemuseum, regionale Geschichte oder Freilichtmuseum – das Angebot ist vielfältig. Mehr und mehr Museen sind heutzutage auch auf Besuche mit der ganzen Familie ausgelegt: spezielle Elemente und Ausstellungen für Kinder machen den Besuch zur spannenden Entdeckungsreise! Da darf man anfassen, ausprobieren und schnuppern, Hörspiele anhören und spielerisch lernen. Auf dem Vormarsch sind sogenannte Audioführungen, die das ausführliche Erkunden der Ausstellungsräume im eigenen Tempo ermöglichen – für Erwachsene und Kinder.

Im Rheinland finden Sie eine Vielzahl an spannenden und liebevoll gestalteten Museen, die Familien, Schulklassen und Gruppen mit auf eine einzigartige Reise in die Vergangenheit nehmen.

Woher kommen wir? Entdecken Sie das Leben unserer Vorfahren: Das Neanderthal Museum in Mettmann liefert lebendige Eindrücke vom Dasein der Neanderthaler, deren Skelette hier in Mettmann gefunden wurden. Von der Jugendherberge Ratingen und dem City-Hostel Düsseldorf aus erreichen Sie in kürzester Zeit das aufwendig gestaltete Museum mit vielen multimedialen Inszenierungen, Lesetexten und Hörerlebnissen.

Immer einen Besuch wert: der Archäologische Park Xanten (APX). Brot & Spiele, römische Thermen, Schmuck und Töpferei: Auf dem Gelände der römischen Stadt Colonia Ulpia Traiana erleben Sie in Deutschlands größtem archäologischen Freilichtmuseum römische Geschichte hautnah. Im dazugehörigen Römer-Museum besichtigen Sie die Überreste der Thermen und faszinierende Zeugnisse der damaligen Anwohner. Ganz in der Nähe des APX: Die Jugendherbergen Xanten, Kevelaer und Kleve. Hier können Sie in spannenden Programmen mit der Familie oder Schulklasse in die Epoche der Römer eintauchen.

Auf ins Mittelalter, in die Zeit der Ritter und Burgherren: In Nordrhein-Westfalen finden Sie eine Vielzahl gut erhaltener Schlösser und faszinierender Burgruinen. Viele von Ihnen enthalten Museen, die Einblicke in Geschichte und Kultur des Mittelalters und das Leben auf einer Burg gewähren. Entdecken Sie zum Beispiel Schloss Burg bei Solingen, eine der größten wiederhergestellten Burganlagen Westdeutschlands.

Eine besonders große Museumsdichte finden Sie in den rheinischen Großstädten. Das Schokoladenmuseum in Köln, das Schifffahrtsmuseum in Düsseldorf oder das Haus der Geschichte in Bonn – da ist für jedes Interessensgebiet das Richtige dabei. Im Ruhrgebiet ist in den letzten Jahrzehnten eine neue Museums-Kultur entstanden: Erleben Sie die industrielle Vergangenheit der Region auf der Route der Industriekultur. Das Highlight im „Pott“: Die Zeche Zollverein, UNESCO Welterbe und größte Steinkohlenzeche der Welt beheimatet heute das Ruhr Museum und das red dot design museum.